Verlegt von
Philomel (2017-05-02)
Aktuelles Material
Final Pages
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Children’s picture books
ZURÜCK

WHAT'S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT FREEDOM

by Faulkner, MattShamir, Ruby

From the Constitution to civil rights, from women's rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname "land of the free."

It's a "free country"! Why? Because in America we're free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again - but it wasn't always easy!

Did you know that Henry "Box" Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?

This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free. Find out how they did it and why standing up for the "land of the free" is such a big deal!

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We're Writing the Constitution - and after this fraught election year, is a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.


Ruby Shamir (http://rubyshamir.com/index.html) is a writer and literary researcher based in New York City. She aided in the researching and editorial planning of many high profile non-fiction titles and is the author of What's The Big Deal About First Ladies. Ruby's public policy and political experience includes working for nearly four years at the White House, two of which she served in the First Lady's office, and leading Hillary Rodham Clinton's New York Senate office. Ruby holds a Master's in Business Administration from the Zicklin School of Business at Baruch College and a Bachelor of Arts from Bates College where she graduated cum laude. She lives with her husband and three children in the Bronx.
Matt Faulkner (http://www.mattfaulkner.com/) is an award-winning children's book author and illustrator who graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design. With 39 illustrated books to his credit, Matt enjoys working on projects both historical and fantastical in nature (and he concentrates very hard not to get them confused). His most recent graphic novel GAIJIN: AMERICAN PRISONER OF WAR (Disney/Hyperion) won the Asian/PacificALA award for 2015. He is married to author and children's librarian, Kris Remenar. They worked together to create the delightful picture book GROUNDHOG'S DILEMMA (Charlesbridge). They live with their two kids and two cats in the lower right hand corner of Michigan.

Verfügbare Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All Verfügbar Auf Rightsdesk ansehen


Weblink:
www.rubyshamir.com

More like this