Verlegt von
Clarkson Potter (2019-06-04)
Aktuelles Material
MS: Complete Unedited
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Cookery / food & drink etc
ZURÜCK

THE TRUFFLE UNDERGROUND

A Tale of Myster, Mayhem, and Manipulation in the Shadowy Market of the World's Most Expensive Fungus

by Jacobs, Ryan

The Truffle Underground takes the reader through the fascinating underworld of the truffle industry.

Beneath the glossy veneer of star chefs and crystal-laden tables, a hidden world of intrigue, sabotage, and crime undergirds the elegance of truffles...

Feuding factions plant poisoned meatballs in competitors' fields to eliminate rival truffle-hunting dogs. Crime syndicates steal research from the labs of scientists attempting to cultivate them, and unsuspecting foragers are held at gunpoint while bandits lift an entire month's worth of income from their trunks.

For readers of The Billionaires Vinegar, this book is a compulsively readable and deeply researched dive into the dark origins of the world's most valuable fungusfrom the scientific mysteries of their growth to the story of the hapless French farmer who discovered the secret to cultivating them, to brutal crimes in the forests and the white-collar crimes that surround this secretive industry. Through it all, a question lingers: What, other than money, draws people to these dirt-covered knobs?

Ryan Jacobs is an investigative reporter and senior editor at Pacific Standard. He has previously held positions at Mother Jones, Sierra, and The Atlantic.

Verfügbare Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All Verfügbar Auf Rightsdesk ansehen

Kommentare

THE TRUFFLE UNDERGROUND is based on a piece Jacobs wrote for The Atlantic, which was one of their most-viewed and shared articles of 2014.

www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2014/01/the-dark-side-of-the-truffle-trade/283073/

Quote: The Atlantic

More like this