Verlegt von
Putnam (2015-07-07)
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Thriller / suspense fiction
ZURÜCK

THE HUNTERS

by Young, Tom

A remarkable military thriller from one of the most acclaimed new suspense writers in years—“a triumph of the fiction of contemporary warfare” (Alan Cheuse, The Dallas Morning News).

Khatar. It's a Somali word for 'dangerous,' and it's one that Colonel Michael Parson has heard too often on his present mission. His friend Sophia Gold has talked him into using his leave from the Air Force to fly relief supplies into Somalia in an antique DC-3 cargo plane.

Somalia is infested with armed clans, pirates, poverty, and, increasingly, terrorism. Parson and Gold are about to face all of them firsthand. An al-Shabaab leader called The Sheikh has declared all aid a sin against God, and he launches attacks against planes and convoys to stop it. If that weren't bad enough, a Hollywood actress and activist has flown into Somalia to make a documentary, and, as far as Parson is concerned, she might as well paint targets on their backs. The mission becomes even more complicated when they encounter a wounded teenage al-Shabaab fighter, who might be seeking asylum--or a chance to kill.

Not even Parson knows just how khatar his mission of mercy will become.

At the time of his retirement as a senior master sergeant in 2013, Tom Young had logged nearly five thousand hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, and elsewhere. The author of six novels, most recently Sand and Fire, he lives in Alexandria, Virginia.

Verfügbare Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All Verfügbar Auf Rightsdesk ansehen

Kommentare

Fans of Clancy and Coonts need to add Young to their must-read list.

Review: Booklist

A remarkable military thriller from one of the most acclaimed new suspense writers in years—“a triumph of the fiction of contemporary warfare. Alan Cheuse

Review: Dallas Morning News

More like this