Verlegt von
Simon & Schuster (2019-10)
Aktuelles Material
MS: Final Edited
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Historical adventure fiction
ZURÜCK

THE DEARLY BELOVED

by Wall, Cara

A luminous debut novel for fans of Ann Patchett and Courtney Sullivan that traces two married couples whose lives become entangled when the husbands become co-pastors at a famed New York City parish in the 1960s.

Charles and Lily, James and Nan. They are brought together in Greenwich Village in 1965 when Charles and James are jointly hired to steward the historic First Presbyterian Church. In The Dearly Beloved, we follow these two couples through courtship and marriage, to their inevitable connection in New York City in 1965.

Charles is destined to succeed his father as an esteemed professor of history at Harvard, until an unorthodox lecture about faith leads him to ministry. How then, can he fall in love with Lily--fiercely intellectual, elegantly sternafter she tells him with certainty that she will never believe in God? And yet, how can he not?

James, the youngest son in a hardscrabble Chicago family, spent much of his youth angry at his alcoholic father and avoiding his anxious mother. Nan grew up in Mississippi, the devout and beloved daughter of a minister and a debutante. James's escape from his desperate circumstances leads him to Nan and, despite his skepticism of hope in all its forms, her gentle, constant faith changes the course of his life.

In The Dearly Beloved, we follow these two couples through decades of love and friendship, jealousy and understanding, forgiveness and commitment. Against the backdrop of turbulent changes facing the city and the church's congregation, these four forge improbable paths through their evolving relationships, each struggling with uncertainty, heartbreak, and joy. The novel is a poignant meditation on faith and reason, marriage and children, and the ways we find meaning in our lives.


Cara Wall is a graduate of the Iowa Writer's Workshop and Stanford University. While at Iowa, Cara taught fiction writing in the undergraduate creative writing department as well as at the Iowa Young Writer's Studio in her capacity of founder and inaugural director. She went on to teach middle school English and history and has been published by Glamour, Salon, and the San Francisco Chronicle. She lives in New York City with her family and The Dearly Beloved is her first novel.

Verfügbare Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All Verfügbar Auf Rightsdesk ansehen

More like this