Verlegt von
Putnam (2014-07-10)
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Thriller / suspense fiction
ZURÜCK

SAND AND FIRE

by Young, Tom

North Africa. A jihadist leader has seized a supply of sarin gas and is wreaking havoc: a nightclub in Sicily, a packed street in Gibraltar.

Acting on information, Marine gunnery sergeant A. E. Blount, at six-foot-eight a formidable warrior, the grandson of one of the first black Marines, sets out with his strike force to kill or capture the terrorist.

But it is a trap. Several Marines are killed, some are captured, and the jihadist promises that unless forces withdraw, he will execute one prisoner a day. Immediately, Blount’s friends and colleagues Sophia Gold, now with the U.N., and Lieutenant Colonel Michael Parson, working for the United States Africa Command, rush to Libya to help coordinate rescue efforts. The ordeal, however, has only begun. Soon they will all be fighting for their lives in the sand and fire of the desert.

At the time of his retirement as a senior master sergeant in 2013, Tom Young had logged nearly five thousand hours as a flight engineer for the Air National Guard in Afghanistan, Iraq, Kosovo, Bosnia, and elsewhere. The author of five novels, most recently The Warriors, he lives in Alexandria, Virginia.

Verfügbare Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All Verfügbar Auf Rightsdesk ansehen

Kommentare

Gripping . . . this page-turner offers thrilling action sequences and harrowing plot twists in abundance.

Review: Publishers Weekly

A remarkable military thriller from one of the most widely acclaimed new suspense writers in years—Fans of Clancy and Coonts need to add Young to their must-read list.

Review: Booklist (starred)

Young takes the time to offer the reader a window into the deliberative process of these military men and women of action. There are, nonetheless, hearty helpings of realistic shootouts and fistfights. A realistic portrayal of contemporary military action.

Review: Kirkus

More like this