Verlegt von
Dial Books for Young Readers (2014-05-15)
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Children’s picture books
ZURÜCK

I AM COW, HEAR ME MOO

by Esbaum, JillGordon, Gus

A high-stakes adventure and hilarious ode to self-esteem for fans of Oliver Jeffers, Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, and Louise, The Adventures of a Chicken.

Nadine can talk a blue streak, and one day she tells a real whopper: she isn't afraid of anything--no siree! Then her friends call her bluff, and Nadine must enter. . .The Deep. Dark. Woods. Only the woods aren't so scary after all, until the sun sets, that is, and Nadine can't find her friends. What is this boastful bovine to do? Run around in blind terror? Plummet off a cliff? Crash into a stream? Check, check, and check. But is all lost? Doubtful. After all, she is cow, hear her MOOOOOOOOO!

Jill Esbaum is a full-time writer and author of I am Cow, Hear Me Moo!, I Hatched!, Stanza, and Tom's Tweet, among many others. She lives on a farm with her husband and children in Dixon, IA.

Gus Gordon grew up on a farm in the mountains of Australia, went to agricultural college, and even worked on a cattle farm. Eventually, he realized he loved drawing cows (and other things) more than he loved living with them, so he turned his efforts to illustration. Gus is the illustrator of I am Cow, Hear Me Moo! and author/illustrator of Herman and Rosie, among others, and now lives with his wife and three kids in Sydney, Australia.

Verkaufte Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All right_status_sold Auf Rightsdesk ansehen

Kommentare

Esbaum keeps the language simple and light . . . Whimsical but bold drawings give the animals and settings depth and interest. Children will root for Nadine, and adults will appreciate her humble experience.

Review: Library Media Connection

Gordon's illustrations, made from watercolors, crayons, pencils, and collage, are a combination of the refined and the scribble-scrabble. They make for a funny mix, just like Esbaum's Nadine.

Review: Booklist

A delightful, jaunty romp... both lyrical and funny.

Review: BCCB, starred review

Readers will chuckle when Annette and Starla boost Nadine up to look in the bird's nest and will laugh when they spot her swinging Tarzan-style from a tree. This story could spark discussions among children about their own fears and would be a worthy read-aloud.

Review: School Library Journal

More like this