Verlegt von
Unnamed Press (2020-08-18)
Aktuelles Material
1st Pass Pages
Originalsprache
English
Themas
Fiction & Related items
ZURÜCK

HYSTERIA

by Gross, Jessica

A sexy, psychological debut novel featuring Freud as a Brooklyn bartender.

In Hysteria, we meet a young woman an hour into yet another alcohol-fueled, masochistic, sexual bender at her local bar.

There is a new bartender working this time, one she hasn't seen before, and who can properly make a drink. He looks familiar, and as she is consumed by shame from her behavior the previous week - hooking up with her parents' colleague and her roommate's brother - she also becomes convinced that her Brooklyn bartender is actually Sigmund Freud. They embark on a relationship, and she is forced to confront her past through the prism of their complex, revealing, and sometimes shocking meetings.

With the help of Freud - or whoever he is - she begins to untangle her Oedipal leanings, her upbringing, and her desires. Jessica Gross's debut is unflinchingly perceptive and honest, darkly funny, and unafraid of mining the deepest fears of contemporary lives.


Jessica Gross's writing has appeared in The Los Angeles Review of Books, The New York Times Magazine, and The Paris Review Daily, among other places. She holds an MFA in fiction from The New School, a Master's degree in cultural reporting and criticism from New York University and a Bachelor's in anthropology from Princeton University. She has received fellowships in fiction from the Yiddish Book Center and the 14th Street Y, where she also served as editor of the LABA Journal. She currently teaches writing at Eugene Lang College at The New School. Hysteria is her first novel.

Verfügbare Rechte

Language Territory Type Status
German World All Verfügbar Auf Rightsdesk ansehen


Weblink:
jessicargross.com

Kommentare

If Ottessa Moshfegh and Phoebe Waller-Bridge painted the town red together, this could be the fictive product of their evening out. Nervy, candid, wet with ink-black humor, HYSTERIA champions female sexual appetites while also exploring the emotional hunger that leads to self sabotage.

Quote: Courtney Maum, author of Costalegre and Touch

Jessica Gross has not written a character I could relate to; but she has written a character I could get inside, a tiny body within the narrator's larger one, gasping for air, feeling as claustrophobic and anxious and obsessive as the narrator is...and somehow, still totally enjoying myself.

Quote: Bekah Shaughnessy at McNally Jackson

Hysteria tells the truth about the counterintuitive logic of desire and daughterhood as its perfectly flawed heroine tries to obliterate herself one Daddy at a time. So intimate I felt like I was eavesdropping, a debut that is from page one as compelling and breathless as the sex bender it details. A lusty feat. Hysteria is a thrilling, sexy tear.

Quote: Marie-Helene Bertino, author of Parakeet

In present-day Brooklyn at the back of a dark dive bar, a distraught young woman becomes convinced her new bartender is actually Sigmund Freud. Jessica Gross's debut novel features exacting and illustrative prose, weaving a redemptive tale of pain, trauma and healing into a lyrical fever dream. At times humorous but always deeply introspective, it's a powerfully feminine work perfect for fans of Sally Rooney, Carmen Maria Machado or Jess Broder. This is the book you'll debate at the water cooler for the rest of the year.

Quote: Wynne Kontos at Greenlight Books

Who better to confront parental wrongs and sexual acting out then the master himself? In Hysteria, Gross has created what many of us dream of--a direct relationship with the enigmatic Freud. In a story that is both delightfully deluded and emotionally raw, Hysteria is true to its name, you want to look away but you can't--this book grips you!

Quote: Darcey Steinke, author of Flash Count Diary

More like this